Inner Fat Girl vs. Inner Skinny Bitch – Round One

Sometimes it’s a war of wills in the kitchen between what I know I should make and what I actually want to make. My inner fat girl wants everything to taste as nature intended. Seriously, why would God and the universe, well, okay – MAN – create real butter if you were not supposed to enjoy it in its true form? Then there’s my inner skinny bitch who knows better, who makes healthy decisions that sometimes make her cranky, but ultimately it all still tastes good and clothes still fit. So she should be listened to. And respected, more often than not.

But sometimes, despite my best efforts to balance out both girls – a battle ensues – and I gotta say, when it comes to waging a food war, my inner fat girl always wins.

This week I set out to make a whole wheat penne dish with lean turkey sausage, broccoli rabe, and ricotta. That was what I was supposed to make. The super healthy recipe. Instead I made the fat girl recipe. Totally by accident, of course. But in the end it was DELICIOUS because I completely changed all the healthy parts and made them all fatty. Amazing how that works.

Technically this was not by choice or even my fault. For one, I couldn’t find the lean turkey sausage. And I tried. I went to two supermarkets AND the Union Square Farmer’s market. So on the night I was supposed to make the dish I caved and bought sweet Italian sausage instead (fat girl).  Then I realized that the ricotta cheese I had bought at the grocery store that was supposed to be fat free or skim or some healthy variety, magically ended up being full blown 100% all fat and yummy goodness ricotta cheese that I accidentally picked up by mistake (fat girl). Then once I realized I now had the fatty and delicious sausage to combine with the fatty and delicious cheese, I thought why bother with the whole wheat pasta and just go for the starch and I used the white pasta instead (fat girl). Voici all my ingredients:

fat girl triumph of real cheese and real sausage

After I was done with this recipe the only thing healthy about it was the broccoli rabe. But man, oh man, that was a good dish that my inner fat girl made and a definite fall staple as far as dinners go. It had all the warmth and flavor of a good lasagna without as much prep work and no tedious baking in the oven. Definite keeper. I would say I was gonna try the healthy recipe at a later time but now that I’ve tasted the devil’s work there’s no point in going back. It’s just gonna have to be my go to dish when I want something warm, filling, and fatty and there is so nothing wrong with that. Here’s a not so great pic – but you get the idea:

heaven in a bowl

If you want it, here’s the original recipe (what God and my inner skinny bitch intended):

Prep time: 10 minutes
 Cook time: 15 minutes
 Makes: 6 servings (very easy to adjust for just one or two people)

Ingredients

Salt

1 bunch broccoli rabe

12 ounces whole wheat penne

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

2 lean Italian turkey sausages, casings removed

1/2 medium red onion, thinly sliced

1 garlic clove, sliced

Small pinch crushed red pepper flakes

2 tablespoons tomato paste

1/4 cup part-skim ricotta

2 tablespoons grated Parmesan

Directions
1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add the broccoli rabe; cook for 4 minutes. Transfer the broccoli rabe to a colander. When it’s cool enough to handle, chop into bite-size pieces.
2. Add the penne to the same pot of boiling water and cook until al dente. Reserve 1/2 cup of the pasta cooking water before draining the penne.
3. Meanwhile, heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the sausages, onion, garlic, and red pepper flakes and cook, crumbling the sausage with a wooden spoon, until browned, 8 minutes. Add the chopped broccoli rabe and saute until tender, about 2 more minutes. Add the tomato paste and cook, stirring until well combined, about 1 minute.
4. Adjust the heat to low and add the pasta to the skillet. Toss to combine the ingredients, adding a little of the reserved cooking water if the mixture seems dry. Stir in the ricotta and Parmesan, take the pan off the heat, and toss well. Serve immediately.

Nutrition facts per serving: 342 calories, 18g protein, 47g carbohydrate, 8g fat (1.8g saturated), 2g fiber

BUT if you’re like me, and actually want it to taste good, here is my adjusted recipe (what the Devil and my inner fat girl threw down in defiance):

Prep time: 10 minutes
 Cook time: 15 minutes
 Makes: 6 servings

Ingredients

Salt as needed

1 bunch broccoli rabe

12 ounces regular starchy lovely penne

2 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

2 nice and fatty sweet Italian sausages, casings removed

1/2 medium red onion, thinly sliced

2 garlic cloves, sliced

Big pinch crushed red pepper flakes

2 tablespoons tomato paste

1/2 cup fatty delicious ricotta

Shit ton of grated Parmesan or as needed

Directions
1. Same as above, but with a bit more excitement since you’re making a much more delicious meal

Nutrition facts per serving: Who really gives a shit?

5 Comments

Filed under Apartment, Brooklyn, Cooking, Culture, Food and Drink, Home, Life, New York, Summer

5 responses to “Inner Fat Girl vs. Inner Skinny Bitch – Round One

  1. Megan

    My inner fat girl always finds a way to toss some wine into the pasta sauce as well. Because, really, what can’t be improved by wine? (And since the bottle is open, you might as well help yourself to a glass!) Seriously, though — this looks great.
    Skinny bitch says that broccoli rabe, sauteed with olive oil and red peppers all on its own can make a lovely side dish, though. :-)

  2. ooohhh – that sounds like an excellent side dish! I’ll add it to my repertoire :)

  3. hahaha I LOVE your 2nd version of the recipe. I truly believe every woman’s happy place should be somewhere between their inner fat girl and inner skinny bitch! Too much of either on its own just isn’t sustainable!

  4. seriously! There has to be a balance. With enough trial and error hopefully I’ll find it :)

  5. Kim

    I’m going to have to try this. It looks positively delicious.

Leave a Reply

