Wild Salmon with Lemon Dijon Creme Fraiche

The blank canvas

The blank canvas

I finally found a salmon recipe I like. Correction – I finally found a salmon recipe I LOVE.

With the advent of only farmed salmon being readily available in most supermarkets and grocery stores I essentially stopped eating salmon a few years back. The taste of the farmed fish literally made me sick. It wasn’t until I took a trip to Spain in 2012 that I said fuck it and ordered salmon thinking perhaps – just perhaps – they might have better options than we did. And thank God I did because man it was GOOD. Not just good – amazing. Melt in your mouth beautiful, succulent salmon.

Since that trip, I’ve had salmon here and there in the States, and while it has yet to match the quality of the salmon I found in Spain, I can at least feel confident buying or ordering wild salmon and knowing the taste will be good. Not always excellent, but at least acceptably good. But I have yet attempted to make any kind of salmon dish myself, until this weekend. And man am I glad I did.

This weekend I originally set out to make a salmon with tomato basil sauce, but after making a handful of other dishes this week with tomatoes and basil involved, I was craving some new flavors. In looking for a new salmon recipe I turned to one of my favorite blogs French Revolution. I discovered the blog a year or so ago and loved the recipes that were always being posted. Simple, easy, straightforward French style meals that didn’t immediately intimidate me. All the flavors and types of dishes I love presented in a way I actually thought I could handle. In searching her abundant list of recipes I found the Salmon with Lemon Dijon Creme Fraiche and decided to give it a whirl and prayed for the best. Here’s the recipe:

SALMON INGREDIENTS

  • 2 filets of salmon, skin on
  • 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • Salt and pepper

SALMON PROCEDURE

  1. Season the salmon with salt and pepper. Rub the butter on the skin of the salmon filet, 1 tablespoon per filet
  2. Heat the olive oil in a skillet over medium high heat until the oil is quite hot
  3. Lay the salmon in the pan, skin side down, and leave to cook for 6 minutes, until the skin is crisp
  4. Flip the salmon over, lower the heat slightly, and allow the flesh side to crisp for 3 minutes.

SAUCE INGREDIENTS

  • ¼ cup of crème fraîche
  • Zest of ¾ lemon
  • 1 ½ tablespoons of whole grain mustard
  • 1 teaspoon of Dijon mustard
  • Salt and pepper

SAUCE PROCEDURE

  1. Mix all the ingredients together in a small bowl. Spoon a dollop onto each piece of hot salmon.

Super simple, non? And it could not have turned out better. I decided to pair the salmon with some boiled red potatoes (smothered in butter obviously) and some haricot verts sauteed with shallots and again, butter (a la francaise obviously) and it  turned out so perfect I literally took a minute and stood back from the plate, shocked that it looked so pretty. Et voila:

I mean...it was just so pretty - and so damn tasty!

I mean…it was just so pretty – and so damn tasty!

This is one of those meals that, when finished and plated, actually makes you believe you can cook. Even if all you did was whisk some ingredients together and sear a piece of fish. It just looks so appetizing you think  you actually accomplished something pretty substantial.

All in all, a great first experience with cooking salmon, securing itself a place in the recipe files of go to’s for our weekly meals. Thanks French Revolution!

3 Comments

Filed under Brooklyn, Cooking, Food and Drink, France, French Culture, Home, Recipes

3 responses to “Wild Salmon with Lemon Dijon Creme Fraiche

  1. This is one of my favorite things about cooking: that you can seriously just mix some stuff together and put it on a freshly cooked piece of meat and it will look and taste like a gourmet dish! I think a lot of people have misconceptions about how “difficult” cooking really is. This looks great, Adrienne!

  2. Pingback: Seared Tuna with Niçoise Veggies and Garlic Butter | Cultured Chaos

Leave a Reply

