All I Want For Christmas is a Staycation

bubble bath

Where does the time go? It is now two days before Christmas (yay!) and I just cannot believe how quickly the Fall went by.

Christmas this year is a small affair, just me and Erik, and the possibility of a few friends if they decide to swing by. But I’m assuming it’s just me, Erik, and our little zoo for the holiday. Perfect if you ask me.

In honor of the holiday, I am attempting to make a prime rib for Christmas dinner. The menu is prime rib, garlic mashed potatoes, and haricot verts with shallots. Classic but challenging. This will be my first prime rib…and I am nervous. It’s times like these I wish I’d paid more attention to what my Dad was doing in the kitchen. I remember his prime rib being amazing. It was something he didn’t make too often, but when he did I would get very excited about it. I wish I had bothered to go into the kitchen and do more than tell him how great it smelled. Oh the things we take for granted…but hopefully he’ll be watching over me in my little Brooklyn kitchen to make sure everything goes well. Prime rib is not cheap so I better not screw it up! That being said, we’ve made friends with our local butcher and are getting an amazing deal on the meat…like half off the regular price. Merry Christmas indeed!

Most importantly, as of tomorrow, I have nine glorious days of absolutely nothing to do. No work, no social commitments (so far), no appointments. Just me, my couch, my pets, some new recipes to try, and a whole lot of movies to watch. Staycation in all its lazy glory.  That being said, my goal is to practice irish dancing at least a half hour a day so I don’t completely turn into mush. I also intend to read at least one book (yes, just one) so I don’t officially become a television watching zombie. Solid plan, no? And then of course there will be bubble baths, lots of bubble baths, wine and cocktails included.

I haven’t been a very good blogger this year, but hopefully I’ll find time for some updates soon. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to everyone!

1 Comment

Filed under Apartment, Brooklyn, Food and Drink, Life, New York, Work

One response to “All I Want For Christmas is a Staycation

Leave a Reply

